Keystone logo

Maastricht University, Faculty of Science and Engineering

A logo


The Faculty of Science and Engineering (FSE) is the incubator and home of several outstanding departments and prestigious institutions in education and research. Our scientists and scholars contribute to international education programmes at the bachelor's, master's and PhD levels and take part in innovative research in the fields of humanities, education, governance, sustainability, data science and natural science.

The Faculty of Science and Engineering includes the following Departments:

  • University College Maastricht
  • University College Venlo
  • Maastricht Science Programme (MSP)
  • Department of Data Science and Knowledge Engineering (SKE)
  • Institute of Data Science (IDS)
  • Maastricht Centre for Systems Biology (MaCSBio)
  • Aachen-Maastricht Institute for Biobased Materials (AMIBM)
  • Department of Biobased Materials (BBM)
  • Business Engineering
  • International Centre for Integrated Assessment and Sustainability (ICIS)
  • Maastricht Graduate School of Governance (MGSoG) - UNU-MERIT
  • Top Institute for Evidence Based Education Research (TIER)
  • Foundation Programme (FP)


  • Home to over 1,500 students (69% from abroad)
  • 280 staff (46% from abroad)
  • 4 bachelor’s programmes and 9 master’s programmes
  • 10 research departments & institutes
  • Locations in Maastricht, Venlo and Geleen
  • Pre-bachelor programme: Foundation Programme


    • Minderbroedersberg 4-6 6211 LK , , Maastricht