Keystone logo

Alabama State University The Harold Lloyd Murphy Graduate School

A logo


Alabama State University was founded in 1867, in Marion, Ala., as a school for African-Americans. The school started as the Lincoln Normal School with $500 raised by nine formerly enslaved men now known as the Marion Nine, making ASU one of the nation’s oldest institutions of higher education founded for black Americans.

Today, Alabama State University, located in Montgomery, Ala., is a widely respected, world-class institution of higher learning that welcomes students of all races. We offer more than 60 undergraduate and graduate degree programs, from our historic teacher education program to a list of high-demand programs such as the Doctorate in Physical Therapy, the Ph.D. in microbiology, the Master of Accountancy, the Masters in Social Work and the Bachelor of Fine Arts in dance.


  • 915 S Jackson St Montgomery, AL 36104 USA, 36104, Montgomery